Abortion no longer in the Criminal Code

Abortion is no longer included in the Criminal Code, but is now covered under a specific law. Abortion that does not meet the legal requirements remains punishable, not according to the Criminal Code, but in accordance with the law of October 15, 2018, regarding voluntary termination of pregnancy. This law led to the repeal of articles 350 and 351 of the Criminal Code, as well as amendments to articles 352 and 383 of the same Code, in addition to modifications of several other legal provisions. These changes were published in the Belgian Official Gazette on October 29, 2018, and came into effect on November 8, 2018.

Previously, article 350 of the Criminal Code was known for criminalizing abortion, even with the woman's consent, with punishments ranging from three months to a year in prison and a fine of one hundred to five hundred euros. This was considered a violation of familial order and public morality. Women themselves were punished with a prison term of one month to a year and a fine of fifty to two hundred euros.

In 1990, an exception was introduced by the law of April 3 under certain legal conditions, where abortion was no longer punishable. However, the law of October 15, 2018, repealed articles 350 and 351 of the Criminal Code, making abortion no longer punishable under this Code. This ended the description of abortion under legal conditions as an emergency, and instead, abortion under legal conditions is considered the right of the pregnant woman.

In practice, there are likely to be few changes. Pregnancy termination remains possible up to a maximum of the twelfth week after conception. As before, the doctor must inform the woman about the medical risks of the procedure and point out various possibilities for the care of her child. The doctor must also be sure that the woman is determined to terminate her pregnancy.

The mandatory reflection period of six days after the first consultation remains in effect, unless there is an urgent medical reason to expedite the termination of the pregnancy. After the twelfth week of conception, a pregnancy can only be voluntarily terminated in two cases: in case of serious danger to the woman's health or in case of an extremely severe incurable condition in the child.

It is important to note that no medical professional can be forced to participate in a pregnancy termination. If a doctor refuses, he must inform the woman and refer her to another doctor, a pregnancy termination center, or a hospital service where she can submit a new request. The medical file is then transferred to the new doctor.

Any pregnancy termination outside this new legal framework is criminally prosecuted, without changes in the applicable penalties. Moreover, there are now also penalties for those who attempt to deny a woman access to an abortion facility, with prison sentences ranging from three months to a year and fines of one hundred to five hundred euros.

Share:

Leave a Reply

Categories

Latest Recent News

New sanctions for contractual non-performance in Belgian law of obligations
Arbitration exception raised in second conclusion after dismissal of first conclusion
Court of Cassation emphasizes role of brussels Ibis regulation in insolvency

Popular Tags

Archives

L'avortement n'est plus dans le Code Pénal

L'avortement n'est plus inclus dans le Code Pénal, mais est maintenant couvert par une loi spécifique. L'avortement qui ne répond pas aux conditions légales reste punissable, non pas selon le Code Pénal, mais conformément à la loi du 15 octobre 2018 sur l'interruption volontaire de grossesse. Cette loi a conduit à l'abrogation des articles 350 et 351 du Code Pénal, ainsi qu'à des modifications des articles 352 et 383 du même Code, en plus de modifications de plusieurs autres dispositions légales. Ces changements ont été publiés dans le Moniteur belge le 29 octobre 2018 et sont entrés en vigueur le 8 novembre 2018.

Auparavant, l'article 350 du Code Pénal était connu pour criminaliser l'avortement, même avec le consentement de la femme, avec des peines allant de trois mois à un an de prison et une amende de cent à cinq cents euros. Cela était considéré comme une violation de l'ordre familial et de la moralité publique. Les femmes elles-mêmes étaient punies d'une peine de prison d'un mois à un an et d'une amende de cinquante à deux cents euros.

En 1990, une exception a été introduite par la loi du 3 avril sous certaines conditions légales, où l'avortement n'était plus punissable. Cependant, la loi du 15 octobre 2018 a abrogé les articles 350 et 351 du Code Pénal, rendant l'avortement non punissable selon ce Code. Cela a mis fin à la description de l'avortement sous conditions légales comme une urgence, et à la place, l'avortement sous conditions légales est considéré comme le droit de la femme enceinte.

En pratique, il est probable qu'il y ait peu de changements. L'interruption de grossesse reste possible jusqu'à un maximum de la douzième semaine après la conception. Comme auparavant, le médecin doit informer la femme des risques médicaux de l'intervention et lui indiquer différentes possibilités de prise en charge de son enfant. Le médecin doit également s'assurer que la femme est déterminée à mettre fin à sa grossesse.

Le délai de réflexion obligatoire de six jours après la première consultation reste en vigueur, sauf s'il existe une raison médicale urgente pour accélérer l'interruption de la grossesse. Après la douzième semaine de conception, une grossesse ne peut être volontairement interrompue que dans deux cas : en cas de danger grave pour la santé de la femme ou en cas d'affection incurable extrêmement grave chez l'enfant.

Il est important de noter qu'aucun professionnel de la santé ne peut être forcé de participer à une interruption de grossesse. Si un médecin refuse, il doit informer la femme et la référer à un autre médecin, un centre d'interruption de grossesse ou un service hospitalier où elle peut soumettre une nouvelle demande. Le dossier médical est ensuite transmis au nouveau médecin.

Chaque interruption de grossesse hors de ce nouveau cadre légal sera poursuivie pénalement, sans changements dans les peines en vigueur. De plus, des peines sont désormais également prévues pour ceux qui tentent de refuser à une femme l'accès à un établissement pratiquant l'avortement, avec des peines d'emprisonnement allant de trois mois à un an et des amendes de cent euros à cinq cents euros.

Partager:

Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Dernières Actualités Récentes

Nouvelles sanctions en cas de non-exécution contractuelle dans le droit belge des obligations
Exception d'arbitrage soulevée dans une seconde conclusion après rejet de la première conclusion
La Cour de cassation souligne le rôle du règlement Bruxelles Ibis dans l'insolvabilité

Popular Tags

Archives